News‎ > ‎News archive‎ > ‎

136th South of Ireland Senior Open Tennis Tournament - Jun 15th-22nd

posted 31 May 2013, 05:35 by Stéphane René   [ updated 16 Jan 2015, 02:37 by Limerick Lawn Tennis Club 1877 ]

The Show is now finished until next year.

The 136th South of Ireland Senior Open Tennis Tournament was running from Saturday June 15th to Saturday June 22nd.

Dear members,

After a fantastic week of Tennis, we wish to thank all the players that took part and contributed to the success of the 136th South of Ireland. The total entry of 320 players was the largest in five years and ensured a busy week for our tournament referee Amy Pratt and contributed to very competitive championship tennis in all events. We have received great feedback from players from other clubs who found our club very welcoming and that is a credit to the role you all played.

A special thank you to the Limerick Lawn players who numbered 130 and did us proud. Even though Greg LeMond didn’t quite make his debut, our players delivered the results to produce a thrilling final day.

It was great to see so many new people in our club, especially those who entered the beginners section.

We had a tremendous singles final between Killaloe’s Barry McCarthy and Limerick Lawn’s Kevin Rea. This final was a pleasure to watch and we wish to congratulate both competitors for their sporting manner in which they played.

Many thanks to all who contributed to the tournament, whether it was in the organising, the participating and the spectator’s too.

We would like to thank you all for your support in 2013 and look forward to welcoming you next year at Limerick Lawn. A special thank you to Ivan O’Riordain for his excellent photography throughout the week.

South Of Ireland Committee

Tournament Director: LLTC President Kevin Ryan
Tournament Referee: Amy Pratt
Tournament Treasurer: Brendan Bradshaw
Club Manager: Emer Mulcahy
Head Coach: Bryan Stewart
Claire McNamara
Declan Harkin
Ian Donnellan
Jim McGann Stephane Rene

The results for Limerick Lawn players are below:

Mens Open Singles Winner: Kevin Rea
Mens Open Doubles Winner: James Crowe & Cj Kelly
Mens Open Grade 4 Doubles: Winner: Declan Harkin & Neil Mc Donald
Mens Open Grade 5 Doubles Runner Up: Declan Benson & Jim Mcgann
Mens Open Grade 6 Doubles Runner Up: Martin Ryan & Michael Ryan
Mens Open Grade 5 Singles Winner: Declan Benson
Mens Open Grade 3 Singles Runner Up: Tomasz Kowalewski
Mens Open Grade 4 Singles Runner Up: Emmett Daly
Ladies Open Grade 3 Singles Winner: Pamela Scott
Ladies Open Grade 4 Singles Runner Up: Sheila Clancy
Ladies Open Grade 6 Singles Runner Up: Mary Geary
Ladies Open Doubles Runner Up: Rhona Byrne &Deirdre Collins
Ladies Open Grade 3 Doubles Winner: Rhona Byrne & Maria Kelliher
Ladies Open Grade 4 Doubles Runner Up: Mary Dillon & Marie Ryan
Ladies Open Grade 6 Doubles Runner Up: Mary Geary & Anne O'Farrell
Mixed Open Doubles Winner: Kevin Rea & Deirdre Mary Collins
Mixed Open Grade 4 Doubles Winner: Kenny Smith & Naomi O'Nolan
Mixed Open Grade 6 Doubles Runner Up: Eoghan o Neill & Mary Geary

Matches results can be found at:

Many photos of the tournament have been posted on facebook at

More to come so keep an eye and like the page if you didn't already.

For any Tournament Inquiries, please call 087-9669798.